VALEAC Treasurer now Lynchburg City Sheriff


Sheriff Don Sloan is a 1976 graduate of Central Linn High School in Halsey, Oregon.  He came to Lynchburg in January of 1978 to attend Liberty Baptist College. He began working with the campus safety department in October of 1979 and worked his way through the ranks to Chief of Police for Liberty University Police Department, serving as Chief from October 1997 through December 2001.  During his tenure with Liberty University Police Department, Don earned his Bachelor of Science and two Master’s degrees.  Don also met the love of his life, his wife Carla, at Liberty University, and they were married in July 1984. They have been married for 32 years and have one son, John-Wesley Sloan, who is a sophomore at Liberty University.  Don and his family are long time members of Thomas Road Baptist Church.

In January of 2002, Don accepted the appointed position of Chief Deputy Sheriff for the City of Lynchburg Sheriff’s Office with Sheriff Ron Gillispie.  Don has served the citizens of Lynchburg in this highest appointed position for the Lynchburg Sheriff’s Office for the past 15 plus years.

He was instrumental in overseeing and leading the sheriff’s office through the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission Accreditation process, earning the office’s current State Accreditation beginning in November 2006, again in November 2010,and again in November 2014.

“As Sheriff of the City of Lynchburg, I will lead by example some of the finest men and women called to serve in Law Enforcement. I am a public servant of the people. Therefore, I am answerable to the people of Lynchburg as their Sheriff.”


Sheriff Sig


Radford University Receives Reaccreditation Award

On March 27, 2017 the Radford University Police Department was formally presented with the agency’s 5th Award for Accreditation by VLEPSC. Presenting the award was VLEPSC Chairman Chief Gary Roche, Pulaski Police Department. Congratulations RUPD on a job well done. From left to right. Lieutenant Shumate, Officer Johnson (AM), Richard Alvarez, Chief Underwood, President Brian Hemphill, Chief Roche, Lieutenant Baker, William Beverly.

Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office Receives 5th Accreditation Award

On March 7, the Loudon County Sheriff’s Office was formally presented with the agency’s 5th Accreditation Award during the regularly scheduled Board of Supervisors meeting. Making the presentation was Sheriff JJ McLaughlin, New Kent County Sheriff’s Office and DCJS Accreditation Center Program Manger Derrick Mays. Congratulations to Sheriff Chapman, the Loudoun County Community and the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office.

Colonial Heights PD Receives 1st Reaccreditation Award

On February 14, 2017 @ 7:00 PM, the Colonial Heights Police Department came before the City Council to be formally presented with the agency’s 1st Re-Accreditation Certificate. Congratulations to Chief Faries, the community and the Colonial Heights Police Department. Presenting the award was DCJS Accreditation Program Manager, Derrick Mays.

Albemarle County PD Receives 5th Accreditation Award

On December 7, 2016 The Albemarle County Police Department was presented with the agency’s 5th award for accreditation during the monthly Board of Supervisors meeting. Chief Ron Lantz received the award on behalf of the agency. VLEPSC Commissioner, Col. Steve Pike, Division of Capitol Police made the presentation. Congratulations to the Albemarle County Police Department and the community.