Category Archives: VLEPSC

Rockingham SO Receives 4th Award

On September 27, 2017, The Rockingham County Sheriff’s Office was formally presented with the agency’s Fourth Award as a VLEPSC accredited agency. Presenting the award was DCJS Accreditation Center Program Manager Derrick Mays. Congratulations to Sheriff Hutcheson, the members of the Rockingham County Sheriff’s Office and the Rockingham County Community.

A Night of Awards for the Town of Grundy Police Department

A Night of Awards for the Town of Grundy Police Department

During the regularly scheduled Town Council meeting on September 12, 2017 the PD was formally presented with the agency’s Initial Accreditation Certificate. Presenting the award was VLEPSC Chairman Chief Gary Roche of the the Pulaski Police Department and DCJS Accreditation Center Program Manager Derrick Mays. Also during the meeting, Chief Fletcher presented Officer Greggory Skeens with the Town of Grundy Police Department Meritorious Service Award for actions taken while responding to an accident. The actions taken by Officer Skeens directly resulted in the survival of the victim. Accreditation Manager Amanda Jones was presented with an award recognizing her dedication and commitment to the accreditation process for the PD. Officer Amanda Davis was promoted to Sgt during the meeting as well. Congratulations to Chief Fletcher, the Grundy Police Department, all award recipients, and to the Grundy Community on a job well done.

Salem Sheriff’s Office Receives Reaccreditation

The Salem Sheriff’s Office was recognized for their reaccreditation achievement in a ceremony at the Salem City Council meeting on Monday August 28, 2017. Presenting the award was Gary Roche, Chief of Police for the Town of Pulaski and Chairman of  (VLEPSC) as well as Derrick Mays, Accreditation Program Manager with DCJS, and Sheriff Steve Draper of Martinsville, also a Commission member. This is the 4th award for the Sheriff’s Office since 2005. Congratulations to Sheriff Atkins and the members of the Salem Sheriff’s Office as well as the City of Salem.

Reynolds CC PD Receives 2nd Award

VLEPSC Commissioner, Sheriff JJ Mclaughlin, New Kent County Sheriff’s Office and Mr. Derrick Mays, Department of Criminal Justice Services VLEPSC Program Manager, formally presented the second Certification of Accreditation to the Reynolds Community College Police Department on August 17. Congratulations to Reynolds Police Chief Paul Ronca, Charles Bishop, Reynolds Accreditation Manager, the members of the Reynolds Police and Campus Security Departments and the Reynolds Community College.