Winchester City Sheriff’s Office Achieves Initial Accreditation

On January 5, 2017 the Winchester City Sheriff’s Office came before VLEPSC to receive the agency’s Initial Award for Accreditation. Congratulations to the agency, the community and to the Accreditation Manager Major Al (Big Al) Sibert who also received Deputy of the Year for the Winchester City Sheriff’s Office!!!

IMG_1603 IMG_1604

Congratulations to Our Re-accredited Agencies!!!

On January 5, 2017 four agencies came before VLEPSC to be re-accredited. They are Montgomery Co. SO, 5th Award; Radford University PD, 5th Award; Loudoun Co. SO, 5th Award; and Colonial Heights PD, 2nd Award. Congratulations for a job well done!!




Colonial Heights 5

Albemarle County PD Receives 5th Accreditation Award

On December 7, 2016 The Albemarle County Police Department was presented with the agency’s 5th award for accreditation during the monthly Board of Supervisors meeting. Chief Ron Lantz received the award on behalf of the agency. VLEPSC Commissioner, Col. Steve Pike, Division of Capitol Police made the presentation. Congratulations to the Albemarle County Police Department and the community.


Charlottesville Police Department Receives Accreditation Award

On Saturday, November 19, 2016 the Charlottesville Police Department held it’s annual awards banquet and promotion ceremony. Invited guests included state and local officials. The department was blessed with a number of life saving awards and awards for community work. Of those presented to the CPD was their 5th Award for Accreditation. The agency came before the commission on October 18, and was reaccredited. Congratulations!!! Pictured are Chief Al Thomas, Officer Lisa Best CPD Accreditation Manager, and DCJS Accreditation Program Manager Derrick Mays, who presented the award.



VLPESC Commissioner, Sheriff C. O. Balderson and the Westmoreland Co. Sheriff’s Office Receive Award

The Westmoreland County Sheriff’s Office was recognized and received two awards during the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) Conference held in San Diego, CA. The National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC) awarded the sheriff’s office first place in the Sheriff’s 1-50 Sworn Deputies Category and the National Sheriffs’ Association awarded the sheriff’s office with the Overall Top Traffic Safety Award which included a $6,500 Training Scholarship through Northwestern University as well as all expenses paid for Deputy Moles and Sheriff Balderson to attend.

“I am honored and extremely proud of the efforts our deputies provide in traffic safety initiatives. Their commitment and dedication to saving lives on our roadways enhances the effectiveness of our safety programs”, stated Sheriff C.O. Balderson

The NLEC recognizes and awards excellent law enforcement traffic safety programs, focusing on impaired driving, occupant protection and speed awareness. Evaluating factors include Problem Identification, Training, Policies, Planning, Enforcement and Public Education/Information. The NLEC is supported through a cooperative agreement between the IACP and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in partnerships with the NSA, the Governors Highway Safety Association and the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators.


Congratulations to the 3 Reaccredited Agencies

On October 18, 2016 during the VLEPSC Quarterly Meeting, the following agencies were reaccredited; Norfolk Police Department, Caroline County Sheriff’s Office and Charlottesville Police Department. Congratulations to all reaccredited agencies.

img_1176 img_1183 img_1195

VLEPSC Senior Assessor & Team Leader Now Chief of Police at Bridgewater College

Lieutenant Milton Franklin, Reynolds Community College Police Department Is now Chief Franklin, Bridgewater College. Congratulations Milt. Our loss is truly their gain. Please see the message from Bridgewater College.


Dear Faculty, Staff and Students 

I am pleased to announce that the College has selected its next Chief of Police and Director of Campus Safety and Emergency Management. Following an extensive search, Milton Franklin will join us as Chief on Monday, October 3. 

Many of you who met Milton during his on-campus interview would agree that his extensive background in higher education law enforcement coupled with his sincere care and compassion for our community will make him an ideal Chief of Police at BC. 

Milton is currently Police Administrative Lieutenant, Emergency Management Coordinator and Accreditation Manager for the J. Sargent Reynolds Community College Police Department. Prior to joining J. Sargent Reynolds, Milton worked in law enforcement at Virginia Commonwealth University, Old Dominion University and Virginia Tech as well as with various local police departments.  He has a B.S. from Virginia Tech and a graduate certificate in criminal justice education from University of Virginia. Milton is a graduate of the esteemed FBI National Academy in Quantico and is currently completing his M.A. in homeland security from American Military University. 

Milton will begin at the College prior to the retirement of Chief Picerno’s departure on October 14th, giving the two a chance to partner to best transition the Campus Police Department. As we say our good-byes to the great Chief Picerno and wish him well in retirement, we are confident and pleased that we have another wonderful new leader poised to take over campus safety  

Leslie Frere, Ph.D. | Student Life | Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students

Congratulations Falls Church PD!!

On September 12, 2016 the Falls Church Police Department was formally presented their Reaccreditation Award. Many members of the public and media were on hand for this event. City Council members spoke very highly of the agency and its accomplishments. Presenting the award was DCJS Program Manager Derrick Mays.